Author Topic: what kind of god would do this to us?  (Read 3225 times)

Offline Linde

• Full time for some time
Re: what kind of god would do this to us?
« Reply #40 on: December 17, 2019, 04:17:00 pm »
I am a scientist, I was born with a scientific mind, and my dad was a scientist, which caused me growing up in this kind of environment.  My mother was a non practicing Jew, and faith was not a big thing in our family.
It is very hard for me to believe in some being who can't be seen or felt.  There might be a higher power, but this power seems not to be very interested in mankind or this earth!

Offline Sephirah

« Reply #41 on: December 17, 2019, 04:36:07 pm »
I am a scientist, I was born with a scientific mind, and my dad was a scientist, which caused me growing up in this kind of environment.  My mother was a non practicing Jew, and faith was not a big thing in our family.
It is very hard for me to believe in some being who can't be seen or felt.  There might be a higher power, but this power seems not to be very interested in mankind or this earth!

Or maybe they're a scientist, too, and we're one big cosmic experiment. ;) Maybe we're all lab rats. :)

I dunno, I don't believe in a God, as such. Like some beardy bloke on a throne with a halo over his head. I think that's an interpretation of humanity based on the imagery of the day. But I do sometimes wonder if there might be some sort of sentience, somewhere. Maybe the universe itself is sentient, and the point of life is to experience. In which case, everyone's experiences are unique, and add to some kind of collective self awareness. Who knows? If that's the case then everything we do is valuable. All of us. Maybe there is no wrong answer, only how we live our lives.

Offline Pammie

what kind of god would do this to us?
« Reply #42 on: December 17, 2019, 05:59:19 pm »
Or maybe they're a scientist, too, and we're one big cosmic experiment. ;) Maybe we're all lab rats. :)