Author Topic: Transgender Idol  (Read 7937 times)

Online sarahc

• Sarah
Re: Transgender Idol
« Reply #40 on: January 08, 2021, 03:48:39 pm »
As a transgender woman professional, my role models have tended to be not the flashy celebrities but the ones who achieve career success. Lynn Conway has to my role model. I'm sure that many of you are familiar with Lynn, but what she has achieved professionally as an electronic design researcher is simply amazing. Lynn has also hosted a very well known website highlighting other successful transgender people for many years - again, I'm sure many of you know that already.

And thank goodness, she's finally getting the recognition that she is due as a successful trans woman. In fact, IBM, which fired her over half a century ago because of her decision to transition, offered a formal apology and recently hosted her for an event.

Definitely read this article which highlights her life and career.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jeremyalicandri/2020/11/18/ibm-apologizes-for-firing-computer-pioneer/?sh=1b911db167d5

Sarah
----
48 years young.
Known that I am trans since...forever.
First therapy session / decided to transition / hair removal: October 2018
HRT: January 2019 (journal https://www.susans.org/forums/index.phpVF/topic,244009.0.html)
VFS: September 2019; three-month report here
Full-time: April 2020
FFS: August 2020
SRS: January 2021

Offline Pammie

« Reply #41 on: January 08, 2021, 03:53:42 pm »
THIS.

Yes, several celebrity MTFs and FTM's are wonderful representatives and role models, but it's the women here who inspire me.

Laura
I was thinking the same Laura! Quite right and i’m so happy to have found this site x

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Jane.Shannon

• Friend
« Reply #42 on: January 08, 2021, 10:22:12 pm »
I have to agree with the everyone who is mentioning Lynn Conway.  An amazing person by any measure.
July 2020: Full Time
Aug 2019: Started HRT
Dec 2019: Hair Feminization Surgery

Offline SarahEL