Author Topic: Name help ?(transman)  (Read 322 times)

Offline jinepyaw

• Visitor
Name help ?(transman)
« on: January 11, 2018, 09:27:30 pm »
How did you choose your name ?
I was wondering how I should choose between the two names I have in mind. I'm going to be starting a new job in the summer so I need to have chosen by then but I'm really unsure how to choose between the two.
I am of mixed ancestry and have a middle eastern surname. It is one of the easiest middle eastern surnames thankfully. But I know some people will just look at it, think "that's not an English name " and give up.
The other half of my ancestry is Irish, and I wanted my name to reflect I have mixed ancestry as people have always tried to box me in as one or the other.
The Irish name I like is Tadhg (like the "Tig" in "tiger") but I know no one will be able to spell it, and maybe people might be confused how to say it. But I like that its a truly Irish name, and I like that it means " poet" as I'm a writer.
I also like Ernest. Its not an Irish name but it would still demonstrate that I'm mixed , plus its a virtue name so I feel like its kind of universal like that. I know most people will be able to say and spell it, but I only like the full name , I don't like the nicknames Ern or Ernie. Plus it does remind me of an old man's name and I'm 20 and nowhere near cool enough to pull off being young but having an "older" name.
So I feel conflicted,
How did you choose your name? What did you consider? And how /when did you know what it was going to be?

Offline widdershins

• Friend
Re: Name help ?(transman)
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 10:10:53 pm »