General Discussions > General discussions

The Aviation Thread

(1/66) > >>

KathyLauren:
There seem to be quite a few aviators and aviatrices (plural of aviatrix) on the forum.  So I thought it would be fun to have a thread where we can introduce ourselves and talk about flying stuff.  It is open to anyone involved in flying, whether professional or private, military or civilian, flight crew, cabin crew or ground crew.  "War stories" encouraged.

I'll start.  I joined the RCAF (At the time, it was technically Air Command of the Canadian Armed Forces) in 1973 while I was in university.  I graduated with my wings in 1977, trained as an instructor, and flew the Tutor jet as an instructor from 1978 to 1982.  I quit then due to an internal moral conflict about being a soldier. 

But, damn, it was fun flying!  I got to do every kind of flying you can imagine: VFR nav, low-level nav, IFR, cross-country, formation, aerobatics.  And I loved the teaching. 

One regret I have was that, when I got out, I didn't go into some kind of civilian teaching.  I tried to get a flying job when I got out, but there were unemployed pilots sweeping out hangar floors at the time.  So I went with plan B and got into IT.  I kept up a private license for a while, but it was expensive.  All I did was fly circuits enough that the flying club would rent me another plane three months later.  Bo-o-o-oring!  When I got checked out at the flying club, the instructor scolded me for doing my turns in the traffic pattern at 45 degrees of bank.  He thought that was "steep".  We used to do them at 60 degrees and 2Gs.

So I don't fly any more.  But I love to talk about it.

What about you all?

@Donica, @Steph2.0, @Jayne01, @Alaskan Danielle

HappyMoni: