Author Topic: Being stealth and non-op at the same time?  (Read 906 times)

Offline DebbySoufflage

• Friend
Being stealth and non-op at the same time?
« on: May 01, 2019, 10:17:20 am »
I am non-op but would also like to stealth once I have had my BA and have graduated from uni.

Are there other trans women here who also are stealth and non-op simultaneously?

I will obviously have to come out to my partner at one time, but I prefer to be stealth around colleagues,... once I graduated.

I’m passable but currently open about my trans status. I would like to change that openness because I prefer the treatment I get when people don’t know.

Being transgender is not something I’m ashamed of but it’s not something that I think is worth to mention every single time either. You know?

Michelle_P

Re: Being stealth and non-op at the same time?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2019, 11:33:44 am »
Sure!

I was effectively ‘stealth’ to most people for a year, living fulltime as myself without any surgeries from October 2016 to October 2017.  I was ‘out’ to two groups, a community service club I was president of when I went fulltime, and a church where I have been doing educational work.

In my condo, in restaurants, going to HOA board meetings, clubs, teaching classes, and regular daily activity, I disclosed to nobody, and was almost always treated as the woman I am.  A modest amount of preparation before going out, and some reasonable choices in wardrobe had me quite passable.

I did get ‘read’ a couple of times, by homeless people with their hyper-awareness of their surroundings.  That is a risk with or without surgery, though.

Offline JoyJoy

Re: Being stealth and non-op at the same time?
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 01:14:18 am »
It's doable and eventually you might forget you're trans. I had plenty of moments like this.
With my post-op abdo swelling I half expect my colleagues to ask if I'm pregnant, I return to work next week - very anxious.