Author Topic: Do you find that you generally get less respect as a woman?  (Read 1693 times)

Offline Ellie_Arroway

• ellie_arroway@susans.org
Re: Do you find that you generally get less respect as a woman?
« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2020, 12:56:28 pm »
I too had a similar experience as I also work as a financial and portfolio manager.  I have worked through a bank where the investment advisers were also women.  We discussed investment options as equals.  One day there was someone new there, a man.  He could clearly see that that I manged several investment accounts, but he talked to me as if I knew nothing and kept going over the fundamentals of building a portfolio!  All I could do was patiently listen, I could not steer him away from his apparent perception that I was just another "dumb" women that needed his advise.

I suspect I would have walked out and complained about that man.
Started seriously questioning: 24 Aug 2019
Referred to GIC: 23 Sep 2019
Full-time female presentation since: 21 Oct 2019, unbroken since 12 Dec 2019
Official name change by deed poll: 11 Nov 2019
HRT: "kind of" started 15 Jul 2020
Most of my story is in the Just another mtf tale thread!
Twitch streamer MusicEllie

Offline sarahc

• Sarah
« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2020, 02:39:40 pm »
I too had a similar experience as I also work as a financial and portfolio manager.  I have worked through a bank where the investment advisers were also women.  We discussed investment options as equals.  One day there was someone new there, a man.  He could clearly see that that I manged several investment accounts, but he talked to me as if I knew nothing and kept going over the fundamentals of building a portfolio!  All I could do was patiently listen, I could not steer him away from his apparent perception that I was just another "dumb" women that needed his advise.

Oh - it's nice to know that there is another finance nerd on Susan's!

Sarah
----
48 years young.