Author Topic: When did you know it was time to go full time?  (Read 2586 times)

Offline Jane.Shannon

• Friend
Re: When did you know it was time to go full time?
« Reply #60 on: October 15, 2020, 05:47:54 pm »
I am a teacher, so I timed going full time to the school year.  With COVID I was full time, minus work, in April 2020.  As the school year wound down it was harder and harder to not come out.  By the last day, I had a shirt I wore over my female clothing, so they wouldn't see what I was really wearing.  I came out to my colleagues in early July 2020, and introduced myself to students as Mrs. this year.  By the time it was time to inform my colleagues I was very ready.  It also made my first day of this school year very easy. 

So how do you know?  I would say it is a combination of how you feel and how outside influences line up. 

July 2020: Full Time
Aug 2019: Started HRT
Dec 2019: Hair Feminization Surgery

Offline Susan R

• Transgender Female
  • The Real Me!
    • Susan R's Introduction
« Reply #61 on: October 15, 2020, 08:01:29 pm »
I came out to my colleagues in early July 2020, and introduced myself to students as Mrs. this year. 

So how do you know?  I would say it is a combination of how you feel and how outside influences line up.
First off...Congrats @Jane.Shannon on your going full time and living as your true self. Self acceptance is a powerful thing.  In the beginning outside influences were the controlling factor of my timeline. I agree with Jane but for me the outside influences became less and less a factor in time as I realized I could not change society but only myself so that what I did. Ultimately, it is a combination of the two. If you have a spouse, children or work situation those outside influences can be the most powerful and last to overcome in your decision.

Susan R🌷
Sept. 25, 2018:       Began HRT
May 19, 2019:         Out to All/Full time
June 12, 2019:        Name/Gender Marker on all ID's/Legal Docs completed