Community Conversation > Coming out of the closet

How I'd like to approach my wife, if I'm ever able to

(1/6) > >>

JamieH:
So I've been putting a lot of thought into this.  If you've followed me you know I'm new to allowing myself to enjoy my feminine feelings and struggling between the amazing excitement of what could be vs the incredible feelings of doom about dropping a nuclear bomb on my family.  I'm terrified of losing my wife, and possibly kids if things were to go poorly.  Beyond the relationship loss, it could financially ruin me.  She's a homemaker and I cannot afford 2 rents, child support, alimony, etc.  If she moved back to Boston and abandoned me I'd be entirely alone here in CA and not sure I could get through this alone.  I'd most certainly be unable to afford any of the transition therapies that I have in mind.

I'm just going to write a script as how I want to start the conversation.  Everyone's different, none of you know me or my wife so I know you can't help me in that regard, but perhaps if anyone has any thoughts on how I may articulate things better or take her feelings into consideration better.

Ok, so here goes...My idea is to tell her I have to go out for a few hours but need to talk to her first.  then after tell her the reason I'm going out is to let her have some space to process and offer to take the kids with me to the beach or something.

"Babe, I need to go out for a few bit to run some errands but I want to talk to you about something before I do.  This is not an easy thing to talk about but I want you to know up front that none of what I'm going to tell you changes anything about how I feel about you, how much I love you and the fact that I want to be with you and only you forever.