Community Conversation > Transgender talk

How to respond if a stranger asks if you are Trans?

(1/5) > >>

Miss Kitty:
Hello every one,

I have a question to ask that I am sure has been on here before but I thought I would share what happened to me recently.

So I have been living happily as a full time woman for years now and I am lucky to not have been misgendered or suffered discrimination  in about 3 years (all since I had multiple surgeries). But in the last 2 weeks at work I have had 2 different people ask me out of the blue about me being Trans.

Since I haven't been treated any different in such a long time they both threw me totally off guard. I work as a Cab Driver and a client told me her long story about her ex boyfriend who transitioned but they broke up over domestic abuse problems. She politely asked if I was a transsexual and then explained she only worked it out because she has been around so many Trans people. That didn't really bother me because of the way she went about it and the two of us are now friends.

Only a week or so later, an elderly lady gets into my Taxi, without even saying hello asks "are you gay?" when I said no, she basically demanded that I answer her question as to whether I was a "gay man" or not.

This time I was so totally off guard I didn't know what to do. I just sat there awkwardly in silence and drove her to her destination. Since I suffer with Borderline Personality Disorder my anxiety and imagination both told me this is going to happen constantly. Customers are going to get in and just demand my medical history and life story (as I said that hasn't happened in 3 years and now it suddenly happens twice).

I have spent the last two days hiding in my room trying not to cry. I have been chain smoking and eat junk food, for the first time in years I had had suicidal ideations.