Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Anybody gone to trade school / community college AFTER a Bachelor's?

Started by purpleshiny, September 07, 2015, 01:15:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

purpleshiny

I'm just curious to see how unorthodox this is.  I got my Bachelor's degree around four years ago (and on a full ride at that, so no debt) and have recently been realizing how much I like to weld and work with metal as a hobby.  I've since made a decision to embrace what I enjoy in life and go back to school for it (and hopefully use the skill artistically), even though I've had to mentally accept that a lot of my white-collar, cushy desk job peers won't understand it.  Funny how that whole "who cares if I'm judged" thing has caused me to really embrace the things I want out of life. :)

I was originally looking at a creative writing Master's program (my day job involves newspaper writing and I'm working on a book), but I realized that for the $40,000 I'd be spending for two years, I already know most of what they'll be teaching me, versus $8000 that I could just pay out of pocket for a program I really am passionate about.

Just curious if anybody else has done this!
Any pronoun works.  I also answer to "hey you."
  •  

Tysilio

Go for it.

I had a Ph.D before I wised up and did a two-year program at a trade school. I had a lot more fun, and it improved my employment prospects considerably.
Never bring an umbrella to a coyote fight.
  •  

judithlynn