Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Do you play an instrument...

Started by Hannah, December 08, 2009, 06:12:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hannah

...and does it make you feel better?

I used to be a rather accomplished pianist and knew my way around a violin...and composed music that lots of people liked. I played in a band for a while, but I couldn't really write commercial grade music so I played keyboards and wrote lyrics, while my friend composed the music and sang. The thing is, he kept dating female band members and we could never form a steady group  :eusa_snooty:

Anyway playing the piano used to really help me to feel better. I tried the other day and wow am I out of practice, and I'm thinking about using that available energy to learn the guitar instead. I quit playing the piano years ago because it dissolves my walls and barriers just as effectively as therapy and Celexa has, and at the time I needed those walls to survive.

Do you play anything? Is it rewarding for you on an emotional level or just something you do for fun?
  •  

Randi

Hi Becca,

I play guitars and sing. However, I find it very very difficult to play with any depth if I am unhappy. This bird can't sing if she isn't happy!

Having had a professional position for several years I also have times when it just feels like more work. That's when I put it down for a while and do something else-like stained glass, or go ride my motorcycle.

I have been building a small studio room in my attic for a couple of years and have just begun to put tracks into my computer. Hopefully I will have something to post online soon-if I can just get the computer in tune! To answer your question-yes it does make me happy.

Randi 8)
  •  

Janet_Girl

Does a CD player or radio count?  That is about the only thing I play.  ;D

Sorry Becca,
Hugs and Love
Janet
  •  

JodieBlonde