News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

USA welfare system

Started by Cindy, December 26, 2011, 01:35:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Felix

Quote from: Keaira on January 09, 2012, 02:47:22 AM
I graduated High School when I was 16, completed a course in basic engineering in collage when I was 17 and from then on, I was working.

When I was 16 I was sleeping under bridges, learning to build fires, learning to bum rides, taking whatever drugs were offered me, and getting mugged a lot. I was so naive. I went from yuppieville to the projects to wandering and totally clueless as to how to take care of myself. What do you do when you have just a backpack and a highway, and no one to call? Where do you go next? I couldn't even sleep on it and figure it out in the morning. The morning was harder than the sleep.

Earlier I think I meant to be chiller. I meant to apologize, to agree that I haven't earned what I have. I take handouts. If I didn't, we'd be lost. I've been that route. I haven't always been on the grid. My daughter deserves better than I can give her without help, though.

It's hard to think about. I don't know how to be objective about this.
everybody's house is haunted
  •  

Cindy

Lets also put this into perspective.

I have just advertised a job for a basic medical scientist. I have had 77 applicants. The qualification needed is a basic science degree. It is a start off junior job. It is permanent.

Of the 77 I have 15 people with PhD's. Some of the PhD's are 15 years post their degree. They have excellent publication records. One has a PhD and a medical degree. The people with B.Sc are mainly 1st class Hons. I have people who have worked 20+ years as senior technicians applying.

The job market has collapsed.

How to choose people to interview has become a challenge. Sadly the people who are junior enough for the job haven't a shoe in. I'll be taking a PhD with heaps of experience.
  •  

Felix