Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Basic books on Gender Studies

Started by Andris, December 13, 2011, 08:18:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andris

I do cultural studies as minor at university (my major is Italian if it matters) but profs left the topic abandoned since some of them went abroad for doing some research, teaching etc. (There is nobody who takes care of GS as main part of his/her work. Of course there should be some profs around in the faculty of Bachelor of Art (Languages) who are interested in some smaller parts, minor and inner topics, but it'll be hard to find them who has something and who's "empty". Sooo...)
Could you name some books, essays, collections of text which are essential parts of understanding theories, trends, essence of GS..? What do you think, what is it really needed to read for the first time to take my baby steps?
In the future I want to link Italian culture and gender studies, to write my BA thesis - that's far enough now but I suppose I need to get know about things (to choose the best topic later which I prefer).
  •  

Cindi Jones

Andris,

There are many "authoritative texts" available. Just do a search on Amazon.com and you'll find many by people with titles.  Some are very good, some controversial, and some don't have a clue. I haven't perused the list for some time, but it might be enlightening to find an authoritative work by someone who has successfully undergone transition themself.  Harry Benjamin's work was the first book recognized in trans gender people. It's a good start.

Don't forget the information available on the internet. There are at least two potential theoretical causes behind trans gender issues. There is actually some data backing the theories although it is somewhat sparse. I'm sorry I don't have the links available on hand.

Cindi
Author of Squirrel Cage
  •  

Andris