Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Came out to my class at college!

Started by Morgan., February 18, 2012, 06:59:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Morgan.

I'm doing a certificate in Community Services Work this year at college and obviously, as I'm studying all aspects of cultural/social diversity, the term transgender was brought up in class discussion. So, me being the champion of awkward silences that I am, I waited for one to come up, spoke up and told the class that I am transitioning from female to male and asked them all politely if they could please use my preferred (male) pronouns from there on.

And they have. And it's awesome. :D

Half of life is f**king up, the other half is dealing with it. - Henry Rollins

•  

Devlyn

Morgan, that is excellent! I think we don't give people enough credit when it comes to accepting our identities. Just be ready to do something when the awkward silence happens! Hugs, Devlyn
  •  

rachl

Congratulations, that's seriously awesome.

I'm a professor, and I sometimes teach business ethics. I've long taught gender equity issues in the workplace, and it's one of my (and my students') favourite lectures. This year I'm expanding it to spend 1.5hrs on transgender issues. I'm considering coming out to my class (only provided that I've come out to my colleagues by then, which is possible if not likely). I love having the opportunity to inform people on the issues. (We'll be taking up the "bathroom" issue and all of the terrible arguments involved. It's going to be a BLAST.)
  •  

mm