Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Are there such things as gender specific traits?

Started by Pica Pica, May 16, 2007, 05:28:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Are there such things as gender specific traits?

Yes
14 (48.3%)
No
15 (51.7%)

Total Members Voted: 9

SusanK

Quote from: Amy T. on May 17, 2007, 08:50:57 AM
Actually part of it is to break the media hype and sensationalism over being transsexual...
snipped for brevity...

I have the exact opposite mindset of somebody who desires to go deep stealth.  But I have been a professional activist my entire short career, and involved with progressive and queer activism since I was 18, before I ever really got to deal with my gender identity issues fully.  I feel it is my obligation to be an activist regarding these issues, so society one day does progress to the point where I no longer have to self identify as trans to make a point. 

That's cool, thanks. The community needs both, the activists and those supporting the activists - we can't all be outspoken. I've spent enough of my career in the light of being a maverick and/or rebel, and just want now to get on with my life as quietly as possible. But I'm realistic to know that the trans label won't go away and always be a question. It's why some more public transwomen occasionally complain about the endless repititive questions about being trans.

I wish you and folks luck and care.

--Susan--

•  

zombiesarepeaceful

I think the struggle for gender identity is being known as a man or a woman, or neither, not the traits we express. If it was about traits alone, surgery wouldn't be necessary. *shrug*

Matt

Edit: Then again, its not just about being physically a man or woman, because those who chose to be non-op are still physically male or female, but may want to be recognized as the other gender. Its a combination of things.
  •  

Kendall