Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

UK's new Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act 2014

Started by foreversarah, August 27, 2013, 01:05:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

foreversarah

I'm not claiming to know everything about the law, but I have recently graduated in Law and as part of that I studied Family Law. This covered civil partnerships, heterosexual marriages and the Gender Recognition Act 2004 and a couple of interesting points regarding the royal baby (sorry you can't avoid it anywhere)!

As many people will know the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Act 2013 received Royal Assent on the 17th July and has been made public just a few days later with the law to become relevant as of 2014. This will do as it says, allow same sex couples to get married.

This Bill and now Act has received a huge amount of attention from the media and from the public, some negative but mainly positive. Great for the LGB community.

I suspect a few have thought, what about the T? Don't worry, despite this area receiving little to no coverage it had been considered in the Houses of Parliament.

Despite it being predominantly covered under the Gender Recognition Act 2004 it has been furthered under the Same Sex Couples Act.

From memory, the GRA allowed anybody who had undergone a transition of gender to receive a full gender certificate subsequently allowing them to get married like any other heterosexual couple. However, if there person who went through the transition was married at the time they would receive a interim gender recognition certificate GRA 2004 s 4(3).

Gender Recognition Act 2004

(3)If the applicant is married [or a civil partner], the certificate is to be an interim gender recognition certificate.