Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Night terrors?

Started by Joe., December 22, 2013, 07:38:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joe.

I think I'm suffering from adult night terrors and sleepwalking. I talk in my sleep a lot and sometimes I sit up in bed or stand up and start screaming. It gets worse when I am not in my own home and its stopping me from going on holiday. I don't remember them but people tell me about them in the morning. Sometimes I stand next to people's beds and start screaming and crying. I also sleep walk a lot and turn on lights and move things around in the night. My door is shut at night but my mum often tells me she walks past my room and can hear me talking and crying to myself and if she comes into my room I scream. I don't remember any of it.

I have gone to my GP but they weren't very helpful about it. I don't know what to do.
  •  

Devlyn

Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor!   :laugh:

You've described your sleeping habits to us, and frankly they're awful! A good, restful nights sleep is necessary for good health, both physical and mental. You need to establish and follow a bedtime routine. The (non) doctor has spoken!

Hugs, Devlyn
  •  

Joe.

Haha I hear you. I now have a good sleeping pattern (I think). I'm normally asleep by midnight and awake at 9.30am naturally. I'm getting there!  :P
  •  

Devlyn

I did a quick read, it's rare for this to persist past your 20s. There are things like sleep deprivation and poor nutrition that may contribute. That's true for just about everything, though.
  •  

Miss_Bungle1991