News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

How do you Treat Pre-Transition Photos?

Started by gymrat93, April 24, 2016, 07:24:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gymrat93

Hi everyone,

My name is Claire, and I'm a 22-year-old trans girl. I've been transitioning for 19 months, am very confident and passable, and am in stealth. This, in conjunction with a recent realization that my college graduation is looming, has made me very happy, but pain still remains, which I should probably have expected.

A lot of what triggers this pain I speak of is inadvertently encountering photos of my old self and my old life---it's extremely difficult for me. They pop up in the most unexpected of places, and even encountering one such picture will throw me into a terrible mood. A lot of the time, what happens is that I get this nauseous feeling, and I get really visceral sensations in my gut. :( Then I feel really detached because I apprehend that I've come from a different mold than effectively any other woman I know, and it makes me feel invalidated even though I shouldn't. Yes, I'm aware that lacking self-acceptance is at the core of my dilemma...

However, what I'm concerned with right now is something that I can treat in the short-term: What the heck do I do with all of my pre-transition photos? What does everyone else do with their pre-transition photos?

My gf is a young trans woman like I am, and she has saved a few important photos and placed them on a single album on her computer. I, myself, can't let go of that old life I had, that comprised a different person, a different family, and essentially a different everything. Yet, I flip the bleep out whenever I encounter its moments because I was miserable. Should I just delete all of them and move on?

Thanks,
Claire
  •  

stephaniec

I use them to see my progression plus the fact that the reality is that it's all a progression and I like me.
  •  

stephaniec

:)
  •