Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Intense Workout - Did I Push It Too Much?

Started by Maleth, August 06, 2015, 05:01:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maleth

Hey guys,

So today I went to my second (official) BJJ class. I've had some grappling knowledge in the past but never took up actual BJJ classes until recently. This was my second class so I was allowed to spar. The warmup in these classes are a little bit intense but anyone can choose to opt out of a specific exercise/stage if they need a water break or to take a breath and have just a break.

Anyways, I'm not too out of shape though I haven't seriously trained in about a month or so, so my body might have gotten out of the loop of intense training.

Today, I sparred with two guys at the end of class. The first guy was my partner for the technical part of class earlier (where we learn techniques with unresisting partners), and he went pretty easy on me but I still had a competitive, good time. After the first dude, I sparred with this waay heavier dude than me. Keep in mind I'm about 100 lbs, about 5,2'' and pre-everything (so the guys know not to go full out on me). Anyways, I learned that it was both good and bad to spar with this really much heavier dude. He was a lot heavier than the first dude so I had a MUCH harder time, but it was bad because he had such a weight advantage on me that it was easy for him to kind of crush me with his weight in a side mount. Most of the sparring round with him was actually me just going all defensive mode because he had me pinned in a side mount pretty much nearly the whole time once he got me to the ground. I think this guy was at least 90-100 lbs heavier than me. So huge difference.