Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Sidling out of the closet?

Started by sparrow, April 27, 2015, 08:20:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sparrow

I'm closeted to all but a few people.  I've had mixed experiences so far coming out to the few people I have.  But I'm fairly eccentric, and everybody who knows me even a little expects the unexpected.  I've come to terms with the fact that either I'll live a double life, or I'll never be even remotely stealth.  I've always been weird about being the center of attention, and I don't want coming out to be a big event, especially at work.  I'm a researcher; I never deal with customers, so I don't have to follow a dress code.

So I'm kinda thinking to sneak out of the closet, gradual-like.  Not long ago, a pair of pink sunglasses showed up, and neither I nor my wife know where they came from.  My wife hates pink, so I claimed them and wear 'em day to day.  Pink Shirt Day helps me pass that one off... or I'm deluding myself... whatever.  I let my hair down at work the other day, showing off my cute new haircut.

My shoes are getting worn out, and I need a new pair of shoes.  I'm considering buying some women's flip-flops, and just acting like nothing's weird about that.  Maybe capri pants next?  When I start HRT, maybe I'd start painting my nails (or stop removing the polish before work, anyway), and only the most unobservant would be surprised to see me in a skirt.

Thoughts?  Has anybody taken this approach to coming out?  Among other things, I think it's fun to get away with things done out in the open.  And I've always been a bit of a prankster... it amuses me to think of approaching my transition as I would a practical joke.
  •  

femmebutt