Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Practicing Mindfulness while Crossdressing

Started by Sandra M. Lopes, May 05, 2015, 05:13:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sandra M. Lopes

Disclaimer: different Buddhist traditions offer different methods and techniques, according to the abilities and the understanding of the students. A good teacher will know what is more appropriate for their students to learn in order to achieve some progress. What I'm disclosing is appropriate for my own tradition, drawing from the teachings of the Tibetan Nyingma and Kagyü traditions. Other traditions might find this kind of training a bit strange!

In my Buddhist tradition, the separation of 'meditating' and 'non-meditating' periods of time is artificial and conceptual. It is only appropriate for absolute beginners: it is far easier to learn meditation when you're in a calm and secluded place, on your own, sitting down comfortably, and having nothing else to do but to look at your mind.

However, in real life, we can only enjoy such moments very occasionally — say, once per day, for half an hour or so. Most of the time is spent in our mundane activities, with which we earn money to eat, clothe ourselves, and get a roof over our heads. Such has been the case since immemorial days, and most certainly it was the same in the past.