Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

My long career and coming out, now...

Started by mickey.megan, February 17, 2016, 07:46:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mickey.megan

I have worked in hi-tech for 30+ years and I have been with my current employer for 16 years roughly.  I am a manager, and I work with people all over the world who know me as (making up a fake name here) Mark and I run a team of about 15 people and I have only met a few of these people face to face. My second line manager and I talk daily on the phone (we have never met).

My picture everyone knows me by is very masculine, with a beard. My voice is very masculine.

I'm not sure how this is going to work, if I come out transgender, MTF. I am very worried that my up line manager will think I've lost my mind and will lose TRUST in me because I have kept this secret (They didn't really know me after all).  I'm sure some reports will NOT want to report to me anymore, and I'm sure this could be the end of my career.

So.... is it possible to transition (come out to my family, friends, go on HRT) but remain a guy while at work?  Anyone successfully do this? Or is it better to go to HR, talk to them, tell them my story and come clean.

BTW I have looked at our HR and communities at my company and there is LGBT and Transgender communities and champions. Yet my company also has a LOT of resource actions, like yearly, and from what I hear you get on the wrong list and you are gone...

The bottom line is I need to work till I'm retirement age and I'd like to stay with my company if possible.  but I would like to live an authentic life.

Anyone deal with similar situation? how did it go?

•  

Dena