Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

Help with Wigs

Started by SimplyThea, July 30, 2015, 09:48:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SimplyThea

So I'm an mtf who is beginning to transition and unfortunately I'm balding pretty badly. I have come to terms with having to wear a wig, but I don't know much about them or about picking one that would be right for me. I want something that can be styled pretty similarly to a real head of hair and is fairly long so I have options when styling it. What kind of wig should I go with and how much should it cost me? I've tried doing research online and I seem to get conflicting answers and prices that range drastically even for the same type of wig. So I figured I'd ask here because someone might know more about them.
  •  

Confetti

I'm not an expert by any means but here is what I think..

Go for a lace front or full lace wig, the hairline is much more realistic than a standard wig.
You can get synthetic lace fronts which are pretty good, I just got one delivered today. These come in a range of prices to suit all budgets.
If your budget is higher you could consider getting a human hair lace wig.

Freetress Equal do affordable lacefronts and you can find them on amazon and other online retailers.
Googling Lace Front Wigs will take you to wig retailers online which will be helpful.
I'd also suggest watching some lace front wig youtube videos so you can see some reviews, what they look like and how to wear them etc.
  •  

lostcharlie