Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

My Gender Dial Is Out of Tune

Started by StormBrew, December 31, 2015, 04:03:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

StormBrew

Over the last few months, and really the last few years, I've been trying to cope with my gender. I was born male and ever since I was little have been obsessed with cross dressing. The problem is i'm not sure if i'm transgender or not. I do love feminine things like dresses, make up, ect., but I also have a nagging feeling towards my male self. Right now I'm in high school and want to be cheer leader. That said, I've been a martial artist for several years and have trained with a male mindset. The best way I can describe my scenario is that I have a dial. Some days that dial is cranked all the way pink, other days all the way blue. Sometimes it's in between, and so forth. I guess really what i'm looking for is closure. I need to know what I can do to make myself happier and healthier. Already I've told some friends i'm a cross dresser, but I would really like some guidance. Thank you so much for reading this, and thank the creator of this site even more for having a place for trans people to ask these questions.
  •  

suzifrommd

Sounds very much like me when I was first trying to figure things out. Some things to think about:

* You can be part male and part female. There are a lot of people here whose gender is non-binary.
* You can be female and yet do a lot of typically male things like study martial arts but also do typically female things like wear dresses and make-up. Tons of women are like that.
* You can be female "at the core" and still feel like a male because of living your whole life (up until now) as a male.

My gender therapist encourages me not to label my gender. That can be an exhausting and ultimately fruitless journey.