Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Role models?

Started by Juliastee, December 29, 2015, 05:15:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Juliastee

Hi

In some ways this will seem like a fatuous question, but from someone who is a complete Newb it may not be. If this offends or seems trivial then please accept my apologies, it is not meant in that way, as I hope you will see.

I am still trying to work out what this is all about and how far I want to go, and at the moment it is one (small) step at a time but, I read elsewhere that one thing that is useful to explore one's en femme potential is to use a dressing service, whilst another is to have a mental image of a role model to whom one aspires. Both seem like potentially sensible pieces of advice. But - having looked at the galleries of a few (and there are not many here, in UK, I think) dressing services, they seem to focus on a rather fetishistic, rather than realistic model of femininity. More drag queen than anything I could ever seriously contemplate ever wanting to attempt, even if I had the skills to do so, which I most assuredly don't.

As a forty something (ok lets be honest - much closer to 50 than I would like) newb, from a certain sort of background, my "role model" would be someone like Robin Wright in House of Cards - elegant, understated, sophisticated and powerful; that is not the sort of look that I have seen any dressing services purporting to provide. Am I being shortsighted, or just suffering from living on this side of the Pond, where perhaps things have not moved on as much as elsewhere?