Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Looking for jobs

Started by redhot1, July 08, 2016, 07:32:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

redhot1

If you don't know already from my previous posts, I have autism spectrum disorder, professionally diagnosed in 1995, I was probably 3 back then. I have some social challenges but I can hope having a job will let me overcome that. Since I graduated high school 5 years ago I have only done few and far between other than be alone in my house all days all these years. I also have assistants/friends who take me to community outings (their service is mandated by the state of Pennsylvania) that are provided by a local group that provides services to people with higher-functioning autism disorders. They take a few hours from each my mornings, 5 times a week. It's bothering me a little since I feel like I have to be "kept in line" and I can't apply for work without their permission. The problem is I couldn't tell what they want or don't want from me.

The other issue is looking for actual work. I have no experience with it, no regular volunteer work to my name, a few brief (1-2 months) courses in subjects like MS Office, digital photo editing, and web design. The issue is that I forget what I learn in classes very easily and can't do it at all. So what if I just can't work a job because of that? I'm still optimistic about getting a job, I just feel lost right now in the moment. I did little anything productive at all, if anything at all, within the last months alone.

Interviews will be tough also, and I wish I could figure out a way to work on it without having to involve my community assistants. I think parents are too busy for this too.