Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Random: Any Baseball Fans Out There?

Started by baseballfan, June 19, 2017, 07:49:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

baseballfan

This is kind of random, but as my name suggests, I am a big baseball fan.  Any other baseball fans out there?  I am a Cubs fan, so I had a pretty good year :)
Right now, I only go by Jessica on this forum.  Maybe someday I'll go by Jessica everywhere.
  •  

natalie.ashlyne

•  

baseballfan

Quote from: natalie.ashlyne on June 19, 2017, 07:56:42 PM
I like the blue jays

I recently went to my first Blue Jays game!  I really enjoyed it.  I enjoyed the whole town actually.
Right now, I only go by Jessica on this forum.  Maybe someday I'll go by Jessica everywhere.
  •  

Raell

When I lived in the US (I've been teaching in Thailand for the past seven years, but about to return to the US) I liked baseball, but all the crotch-scratching and spitting made me feel nauseous, so instead I watched little league and church picnic baseball games. Those are much funnier and more enjoyable, not to mention FREE!

But I'm that way..I love informal sports just as much, or more than professional ones.

In Thailand I've had wonderful new sports to follow, from cow fights (Thai Brahman bulls fighting each other by shoving) to petanque (like a giant marbles game), from "yang" (jumping games played with a double rope made of rubber bands) to takrow (game using heels and body to control and send a rattan ball either over a net or into a net hung 20 feet above the court).

Cow fights (these are even on TV on a special channel, which also includes cock fights and bird song contests)

Petanque:

yang: In Thailand, it's played a bit different, with very high leaps

takrow:
  •  

baseballfan

Wow, those are some sports I have never seen before.  Huh, I thought I was aware of all the major sports out there.
  •  

RachelH