Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

How do you see the term "marriage"?

Started by redhot1, April 30, 2017, 12:43:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elkie-t

Quote from: Medium-sized Bird on October 06, 2017, 09:15:33 PM
I'm confused by this phrasing. Do you think the primary reason of marriage is to raise children? Do you have any thoughts on married couples without children?
Married couples might not have any children at the moment, but I think raising children together (eventually) is a primary function of a family, distinguished it from mere sexual relationship or a commune. And I did not mean only biological children - they can adopt if they wish so.

Obviously, I'm not a lawyer and not a politically correct person. But I say as I see it, and realize there are more exceptions to the rules than the rules. Yet, what I wrote defines my current thinking of a marriage at this moment of time-space continuum.
  •  

flower1221

proving your commitment with a legal agreement
  •  

rmaddy

The idea that the purpose of marriage is procreation is the dreamchild of the Catholic church, the largest, most sexually terrified organization in the world.  Go figure.
  •  

Jenntrans

I know this is a little old but I just have to chime in. The way I view marriage? State sanctioned and Religious dictated only. Do I really need the state or a religion to allow me to love someone and dedicate my love to that person? No. as for polygamy, I can't no more condone or condemn that as I can marriage, gay marriage or any other type of marriage sanctioned by a religion or state either dictated or sanctioned. Marriage does not equate love and vice versa.

To me contractual agreements and religious doctrines have a way of bringing down the Love aspect between intimate partners.