News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

Getting children onside

Started by Phillipa1971, May 26, 2017, 10:41:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phillipa1971

Looking for some advice:
I told my family (wife and 6 children 5-19yo) about my crossdressing at the start of the year. All were supportive, although the eldest two daughters less so.
Last night, My wife and I told the children  that it is more than cross-dressing - that I plan to transition probably early next year.
The youngest 4 are fine ('great - lesbian mums! said the 9yo), but the eldest two (17 and 19 aren't coping)
One, who starts medical school after the Summer, went ballistic, saying I've ruined her medical career now, nobody will want to know her (I'm a surgeon where she will be training).  The eldest was just silent and went out for a run.
Quite obviously, my transition won't ruin her career, but how to get her onside?  We suggested looking online, but were shot down by "you don't understand"
Any advice how I can try to get them onside? It's left me really gutted all day.

Phillipa
  •  

Laurie

Hi Phillipa,

If you figure this out let me know. I'm in the same boat with my adult daughter. In my case she believes I'm broken from some unknown unresolved trauma in my childhood and that god can and will fix me if I let him. She knows full well I do not share her views on religion and therefore I'm not going to be fixed. She's gone as far as making a facebook prayer request because she is "heartbroken for her children after they received devastating news about someone they loved" No no grandpa didn't died he just wants to be a she.
   Because of her non - acceptance, I no longer feel welcome there and miss her, her husband and my 5 grand kids.

Hugs and condolences,
   Laurie

April 13, 2019 switched to estradiol valerate
December 20, 2018    Referral sent to OHSU Dr Dugi  for vaginoplasty consult