Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Cassandra's Tale - The Making of a Brave New Girl

Started by SassyCassie, January 08, 2018, 05:10:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SassyCassie

Mar 23 2017, 10.03pm
Had my first laser session along with my introductory visit to Dr. {HRT DOCTOR} yesterday.

Yesterday started out on a nice positive note. I was full of optimism about the future and really looking forward to my two appointments. When I got close to downtown, I started practicing my female voice so I could actually try it out on other people in a trans-friendly environment. I wanted to at least start making an effort to use it while out and about so I can sound more...genuine(?) as time goes by.

When I got to {CLINIC} for my laser hair removal appointment, I started reading through work emails. What a mistake that was. There was an incident that once again highlighted my tendency to procrastinate on things until they become and emergency. They always seem to become an emergency when I'm not there. Not good.

The hair removal treatment went well. {ELECTROLOGIST} was very thorough in explaining how the process works and she took great care to ensure that everything would be safe and effective. The level of pain during the treatment was a bit more than I expected though. They say that each discharge of the laser feels like someone snapping a rubber band against your skin. That may be so, but it happens dozens of times in succession, typically about a second or so apart. That kind of pain adds up and gets pretty intense. I was able to breathe through the pain for much of it, but toward the end, I was crushing the life out of the little stress ball she gave me to hold.