Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Hello, it's me ... I didn't really expect to be here ...

Started by AnnMarie2017, February 20, 2018, 12:22:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AnnMarie2017

Since I became comfortable publicly presenting female, three things have held me back from going full-time: my wig, my wardrobe and my boss. My wig and I are working through our love-hate relationship; my wardrobe is pitiful, but workable; but my boss ... Now, that was a problem.

I work in the hospitality industry and deal extensively with the public, and my boss is from a different, more conservative culture. When I first suspected I might be trans, I asked him in an email if he would have any objection to my getting my ears pierced. He responded to the other matters in my email and ignored this question completely. So, when I next saw him, I asked him directly. He looked noticeably uncomfortable, and asked me, "Why?" in a tone of voice that spoke volumes. I dealt with it by reminding him that men in America get their ears pierced, too; and I got his assent. But the manner of his response guided my thinking on the subject of coming out on the job and to him personally.

For this reason, my boss was the last person I came out to. By the time I did, I had already begun using my new name at work; but we rarely saw each other, and the subject wasn't raised. He continued to call me by my old name. What forced the issue was my legal name change. Once I did that, he *had* to be told directly; there are tax consequences for both of us.