News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Keira 1.0 Introduction

Started by Keira 1.0, December 11, 2018, 12:15:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Keira 1.0

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting.  I am a mid-40's male (externally anyway), married w/kids, and deeply entrenched in my current life.  This is my first time acknowledging, outside of my own mind, something that I've always sort of known in one way or another since a very young age.  I'm fairly certain that after lots of internet reading, I definitely fall somewhere on that trans spectrum (exactly where this goes, I don't know).   I, like many other people, moved on with life when I never magicallly woke up as the girl that I always wished I could be.  I've done a pretty good job of compartmentalizing this part of me for many years.  The feelings have never gone away.  They have come and gone with varying intensity over the years with accompanying levels of untreated depression as well .  I've just sort of pushed ahead in life, slowly at times, but still ahead. 

For the last 4-5 years, the dysphiric feelings have been steadily ramping up.  The last 6 months have been especially hard.  There are days where I manage okay and then there are days where I'm an internal wreck and the dysphoria hits me like ton of bricks (with physical effects).  One thing that I am certain of is that I need to talk to a trained therapist that specializes in transgender issues (I will post in that forum when I get a chance)

So, here I am, confused with lots of questions.  Step number 1 is now about to be checked off.

Thanks,

Keira 
  •  

dee82

Hi Keira,

I can see similarities in your story so far with mine. It's amazing how suich feeling can be pushed aside because of family/commitments/work or simply being fearful of what it all means.

You have the right idea about seeing a gender therapist. Go for it and see where it takes you! It can be scary, but exciting too.