Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Being HIV+ while transition and HRT

Started by Chynna, May 31, 2006, 12:12:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chynna

This is a question I have run across once or twice but know its a question most individuals will be afraid to ask.
I am not a medical expert but as a counselor had to deal with this\these issues once or twice and it is a very valid concern.

How does being HIV+ effect being on HRT?

A few things to be aware of many "antiviral" meds are extremely hard on your Kidneys &\or Liver So are hormones so informing your dr. or doctors of both your status & your transition is important to your good health. your provider should still be able to provide you with a antiviral regimate that will not effect the kidneys & \or liver as much seeing how they already have a lot of stress due to HRT.
An advantage to HRT in regards to being HIV+ is that males tend to have more "rejection pumps" (not a medical term) in thier cells these "pumps" are what makes everyones body develop tolorences to medications. they monitor each individual cell and identify foreign substances (like medication) and cause the body to expell them. The ratio in men vs woman is something like 4-1 However in MtF Transexuals these "pumps' seem to shut down to a female ratio this effect is marginal but realistically does help.

Should my status prevent me from transition.
NO, under no circumstances should this be a "show stopper" You will need to take the time to stablize your condition if you have just recently been diagnosed. Take the time to get the 'chronic Disease" (a medical term :))under control before you begin HRT