Susan's Place Logo

News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

I am disgusted!

Started by nickie, May 09, 2008, 10:54:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nickie

Just venting here, folks. I am a brand new nurse, as some of you know. I had 2 job offers out of 3 applications, and an interview offered with another after I had accepted a job.
To make a long story short, my orientation was only 2 nights, then I was thrown to the wolves. I am so scared of making a med error and killing one of these very brittle old people. (I work in a nursing home). I started the job with little or no preparation, it's a night shift, and I haven't learned to sleep in the daytime. I have issues with my feet, kind of like a diabetic does. They hurt a lot, and I need very good shoes really bad. I have tried on literally dozens of pairs to find one good pair. I am fat from the hormones and lack of exercise (I am at work the hours I used to walk in the park alone) and very depressed from working with nurses with real negative attitudes. I had to call in sick today, just to get some rest. I have pretty much bitched my head off to all of my best friends, and now consider that I have chosen the wrong job, maybe even the wrong career. I am in demand now, but I can't  handle it (yet).
Anyhow, thanks for reading and letting me vent with you. If you pray, please pray for me. My house is a shambles, and I don't even care right now. (I am a neat freak, to boot). I am too tired to have any fun, and I am used to having lots of fun, not working like a mule. I love all of you, take care!
  •  

sd

Give it time, every new job takes some getting used to.

As for the bad attitudes, nurses are some of the most unappreciated people there are. They are typically underpaid and over worked.