News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

do church's really want helpers?

Started by semie, March 01, 2010, 09:02:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

semie

sad church story, partial rant,

its strange, once I start to trust a church its like they bring up these unspoken/unwritten rules that seam to vary from person to person

my story is, I'm only out partly, and it's only to my mom,
the last church we had to leave it 'cus the pastor wanted say in absolutely everything even when he said "I leave everything to you" and other not so nice things; lets just say he isn't a pastor, my mom calls his flock "battered sheep", and now, at another church, we've been going to for 6 months (we used to go there), starting to work with the ministries, I'm a drummer and assistant sunday school teacher, and the self proclaimed leader tells me a second grade student cant go in the younger class, (though he's somewhat autistic and apparently she said age 4 to 2nd grade, which I forgot) but she said, "he's to old, its not part of the plan" her so called planing meeting we had which felt like crock when we "had" it). Then this week, there was only one student in my regular class so I went in the nursery to work on my cards, and the girl in there said "we're not actually sposed to let guys in the nursery" but you should be okay," though she was shielding the little girl from me, I made a little pipecleaner person and she said "she doesn't know you, she's shy around new people", well duh, how do you think kids become less shy?; and anyway the other week she said "hi" to me,(she just turned two) needless to say I was shaking, told my mom I was walking home, had enough strength to make a short birthday card for one of my friends there and left.

It's really disappointing how the reason we have to leave churches are because when we help them they seam to make up unwritten/unspoken rules for us. 'they do' my mom said,