Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Had a really great conversation last night...

Started by GabrielJames, March 12, 2010, 10:50:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GabrielJames

I wanted to cry tears of joy last night and thought I'd share with the rest of you.

I'm a graduate student right now and I tend to have classes with a lot of the same people. One of the women in my program is an older woman who I haven't really gotten to know but who I've had classes with in the past. I said something in class last night while we were having a discussion about diversity (I think it had to do with "heteronormativity") and she told me in passing that I reminded her of her daughter. We ended up talking after class and she told me that she's not sure where her daughter is right now in terms of gender and sexuality because she's really private but that she wishes that she would just be open about so that the family knew how they could support her. We started talking about my mother and how she's been dealing with my being trans and the conversation just went from there. She mentioned that she had a friend in high school who had transitioned later on in life and how surprised she had been when she found out at a garage sale of all things. What she said gives me hope for the rest of the world. Here's as close to a transcript as I can get: