Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Pet Questions

Started by Hauser, June 09, 2010, 11:25:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hauser

i am studying to become a Veterinary Behaviorist. Ive also worked as a dog trainer, done about 6 years of rescue work and was an assistant to a show dog breeder.

So i saw this subforum and thought id open a thread for anyone who might want an animal professional's input on any issues they have with their pets or advice on how to choose the right pet for your situation.

:)
  •  

Nathan.

Got a question, got any tips on how to stop my dog barking at the postman and people walking outside our house?
  •  

Hauser

Quote from: Nathan. on June 09, 2010, 01:18:11 PM
Got a question, got any tips on how to stop my dog barking at the postman and people walking outside our house?

Barking is usually a tricky one. In breeds(and mixes thereof) such as the various hounds, shelties and collie types owners often have to resort to surgical debarking. but that is typically a last resort.

this is a behavior issue that requires an individualistic approach.

Could you give me a little background on the dog in question?

including age, sex, breed or suspected mix and what type of training methods have you already tried to alleviate the issue.
  •  

insanitylives

Similar problem to nathan
8 y/o female german shepard.
also she still eats toilet paper..... is this normal?
  •  

Nathan.

Quote from: Hauser on June 09, 2010, 01:41:58 PM
Barking is usually a tricky one. In breeds(and mixes thereof) such as the various hounds, shelties and collie types owners often have to resort to surgical debarking. but that is typically a last resort.

this is a behavior issue that requires an individualistic approach.

Could you give me a little background on the dog in question?

including age, sex, breed or suspected mix and what type of training methods have you already tried to alleviate the issue.