Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Need help setting up a mic

Started by Lachlann, June 28, 2010, 10:47:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lachlann

I'm new to working with recording equipment and I know for sure there are people here who have dealt with it.

Here's the thing, my mobo(motherboard) isn't exactly meant for pro mics and I just recently got a Shure SM57. I need a phantom power because I'm not getting enough of a boost and my friend thinks I'd need a multi-channel mixer, but he only knows a little bit more about this than I do. I'm not looking for anything super expensive as this is still just a hobby, but I still want something decent at least. I'm just looking at recording vocals.

Now, I might be completely wrong in what I need for this, so feel free to correct me.
Don't be scared to fly alone, find a path that is your own
Love will open every door it's in your hands, the world is yours
Don't hold back and always know, all the answers will unfold
What are you waiting for, spread your wings and soar
  •  

Flan

Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur. Happy kitty, sleepy kitty, purr, purr, purr.
  •  

Lachlann

Quote from: Laura91 on June 28, 2010, 11:06:47 PM
A SM57 is a dynamic mic, therefore phantom power is not needed. Only condenser mics require phantom power.

Hmmm.

So why can't I get the volume up on it? I've got mic boost on and the recording volume up. Any ideas?
  •  

Lachlann

Quote from: Laura91 on June 28, 2010, 11:09:50 PM
I edited my post at the same time you posted.  :D Re-read it if you want to.

Ah, I see.

Quote from: FurryDessert on June 28, 2010, 11:05:15 PM
something like this to interface, separate from the noise of the pc and provide power?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882898056

edit: cheaper
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836709012

Thanks for the links.
  •  

Kate Thomas

"But who is that on the other side of you?"
T.S. Eliot