Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Spirituality vs. Religion

Started by nickie, September 21, 2007, 09:59:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nickie

Hello everyone! I am new to these pages. I will start out by saying I am not a religious person. I used to be a Christian, but now I am a transsexual.Grin I call myself a Recovering Baptist.
I have been a member of various Unity churches in several states. I am now in Florida, and have been a member of Unity of Clearwater for over 7 years. I am by far more comfortable here than anywhere else I have ever attended. Our minister, a female, is very spiritual, open minded, and is a transpeople advocate. I call myself a "Unitic", just for fun. I have been a Sunday School Teacher for about 4 years, both as a man, and as a woman. I was asked to teach children about diversity in my last position. Very appropriate, don't you think? I love Unity, because there is no Bible thumping, no "saving" anyone, no cross, no baptismal tank, and no telling anyone else they are going to hell. They never ask for money. I have heard some of the funniest "sermons" (we call them lessons) in my life, and some of the best singers ever. We have our own band. I don't think I would be alive without Unity. I always am fond of saying "My transition is my spiritual path, and my spiritual path is my transition." Not that I am all-consumed by my sexual transition, as evidenced by what I see other people appearing like. Anyway, this is not a advertisement for my church, or my brand of worship, just a little offering about how my life is better than it used to be, and why. Any questions are more than welcome.
  •  

cindybc

Hi  nickie
My name is Cindy and I have been full time for 7 years and had SRS 4 years ago.