Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Looking for advice/support regarding coming out and college applications

Started by Alzh, September 01, 2016, 03:40:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alzh

Hi! I'm new to the forum. I've been putting this off for a while now, but I am feeling too confused and worried to put this off any longer.

I am an incoming senior in the Pacific Northwest, who is currently filling out their college apps. For the past few years, I had been planning to come out and be in a position to go full-time by my freshman of year of college, so when I saw an opportunity to disclose my gender identity on the Common Application, I really really wanted to. However, I am not technically out to anyone right now, and I am afraid that my parents will see the app.

I want to try and come out to my mom, but I am scared to death of doing it. She has some very conservative Chinese ideals. She thinks that "proper" women should only be in stereotypical female professions (i.e. secretary, reporter), and that it is a shame if a family has no sons to pass on the family name (she was scolded by both of my aunts for expressing disappointment at my older cousin's two daughters). When I tried to come out a few years ago, she told me that she would have felt disappointment if I had been born a girl, and that me being a son was one of the greatest things to happen to her.