Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Woman in technology

Started by karenpayneoregon, October 19, 2016, 06:23:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

karenpayneoregon

My profession is software development, during the course of my career I became involved with several forums for software development and with that became Microsoft MVP (Most Valued Professional) where out of millions only three thousand are selected each year with no guarantees to be selected in the future. Happy to say this is my third consecutive year.

Each year Microsoft holds a week long event known as the summit. Last year I was interviewed as a female in technology. The interview was one hour long, about 45 minutes into the interview I informed them I had transitioned from male to female, jaws dropped with a response of "noooo". The only reason for informing them of my transition was that I had a perspective from both sides male and female. The video of the interview went live shortly afterwards and was very happy I was accepted no different than any cisgender female.

Now to present day, two weeks ago I received and email from Microsoft asking if I would speak live on the same topic and also to include diversity of transgender and non-binary people, how can they be motivated into working in the development community.

I see this as an excellent medium for promoting transgender people into the development community along with cisgender females.

One might wonder about the ratio of female to male in the development world. I worked in a team of 12 where besides myself there are only two females. In the summit last year out of 3,000 plus attending there were only 20 females. One has to wonder why and this is partly what I will be addressing in my speech.