News:

Please be sure to review The Site terms of service, and rules to live by

Main Menu

Fitness and Nutrition

Started by Nooms, May 12, 2017, 06:34:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nooms

Hello and merry meet

I just wanted to let you all know that although I am not in the industry (working) as a Personal Trainer and Nutritionist, I have a lot of experience in the fields both through education (study) and personal experience. I just wanted to offer any help and guidance where I can to those needing information reading training and nutrition when it comes to transitioning. I think there is a serious lack of knowledge and understanding when it comes to these topics in the transgender community. I want to help dispel a lot of the myths that surround strength training and cardio when it relates to MtF and FtM, so I am here too answer whatever questions you may have on these subjects and I am sure there are plenty of you here who could help and support us too.

Just to start this off I would like to answer a question I have been asked on a few occasions.

QuoteQ: When I am calculating my BMR (Basal Metabolic Rate) for weight loss and or training do I enter male or female as my sex?

A: The answer to this is quite complicated because as a rule there is not much difference between the two. So it all boils down to "what stage are you at in your personal journey". Basically our weight, growth and energy are all controlled by our hormones on basic level. So if you are pre hormone treatment it is advisable to use the gender you were born in to calculate your BMR but if you have started hormones then I would enter the information as your gender you identify with.

Please feel free to ask me for more information because things are not always as clear when trying to explain it on paper :D

Oh and of course, the best source of information is the information you gather for yourselves. If in doubt ALWAYS ask a doctor when it comes to your personal health xxx