Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Coming out at work???

Started by Dakotah95, January 20, 2019, 02:08:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dakotah95

Okay, I'm starting a new job in a week. I'm just beginning to come out in my daily life and working towards starting HRT. At my interview I introduced myself with my birth name as I always have; but now that I am beginning to come out to the people in my life I want to go by my chosen name everywhere that I can. It will be a while until I can actually start HRT. I have to have therapy appointments and find a therapist and a doctor to prescribe testosterone. It's going to take some time.
Should I just continue using my birth name at this new job, or should I speak with my manager about introducing me as Dakotah and he/him on my first day instead? I would definitely feel more comfortable going by Dakotah, but is it too soon to ask this?

If I should ask to do this, how should I even begin that conversation?
Please, all the advice I can get would be so appreciated. I'm really stressing this..
  •  

LizK

Dear Dakotah

Welcome to Susan's. I hope you enjoy your time here.

I can't really give advice on the subject as its something I have never had to deal with. I am not able to work and transitioned after I lost the ability to.

I am sure there will be other along to help you with your question.

So you are able to get the very best from being here there are a couple of links we give to all our new members

Regards

Liz

Things that you should read

Transition Begun 25 September 2015
HRT since 17 May 2016,
Fulltime from 8 March 2017,
GCS 4 December 2018
Voice Surgery 01 February 2019
  •  

Dena