Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

hairline surgery with long hair?

Started by jordanaa, April 26, 2019, 02:16:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jordanaa

Hey, so I'm about to start transitioning and I know eventually I'll want to have hairline surgery. My question is do surgeons require you to shave your head for this or can they perform the operation with your hair grown out?

I'm also very new to this whole transition thing and any advice would be great! Also curious about HRT on the NHS and if there are any obstacles with that or if they will simply allow me to take hormones if I want to with their support? thanks everyone!
  •  

Casady

Hi Jordanaa,

I have that very same issue. I feel my hairline could be improved slightly by a hair transplant following my FFS last year as it still has a slight M shape. I had a consultation in London with a Hungarian hair transplant clinic the other week and was told that they would need to shave my head. However, I've seen cis women on RealSelf who haven't had their heads shaved (although they have shaved areas on the backs of their heads presumably covered by longer hair from higher up) so it must be possible.

Re the NHS, I take it you mean GP support should you obtain HRT privately? I use GenderGP for private HRT prescriptions and they liaise directly with my GP. My surgery texts me when I need a blood test and they send the results directly to GenderGP. If you do go down that or a similar route then of course get your GP to also refer you to a GIC but as I'm sure you're aware, the wait for that is long.

Casady
  •  

jordanaa

Thanks casady, i hope the transplant goes well if you choose to do that! Yeah when i googled and looked around i found conflicting answers as well. obviously i'd like to not have to shave my head for this as it takes so long for hair to regrow!