2 (6.1%)
Way of life
13 (39.4%)
All of the above
8 (24.2%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Anatta

Kia Ora,

This topic is open to practitioners and non practitioners who have an interest in Buddhism...

I apologise if a similar topic has been posted in the past...

::) What's your take on Buddhism? What drew you to it? To you, is it a religion, something similar to Abrahamic belief systems but with no god figure=a non theistic religion/belief system ? Or perhaps it's the Buddhist philosophy with no god-centric strings attached that draws you...

For me personally I see it first and foremost as "Inner Science" studying the mind through meditation, however what originally drew me to Buddhism was its philosophy and how it views life...It's now become a way of life for me...

I'm no expert, even though I meditate everyday and attend weekly Buddhist meetings and attend Dharma talks once a month given by the Tibetan Lama who visits the island where I live, I don't consider myself a very devote practitioner , there are always things I feel I could be doing better to improve the lives of other sentient beings...

Even though I had been connected to the Buddha's teaching for many years[In the past I was fortunate enough to spend time in Buddhist countries or countries where Buddhism was the main Belief System] it was only around the time when I was part way through my transition,13 years ago [and going through a real rough patch] that I began to fully embrace the teachings...Since then Buddhism has changed my life, it reappeared when I needed it the most["When the student is ready the teacher will appear!"]...Through Buddhism I've learnt to overcome my fears, anxieties, and to let go and just go with life's flow...

Well that's my spill on what Buddhism is and has done[and will continue to do] for me...

How about you ? What has Gautama Siddhartha's teachings done[or you hope will do] for you?

Happy Mindfulness :)

Metta Zenda :)