Susan's Place Logo

News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Training programs vs voice therapist.

Started by Jenna_Nicole105, June 16, 2011, 03:38:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jenna_Nicole105

Subject pretty much says it all, is there a major inherent advantage in terms of using a trained voice
therapist/coach (however one chooses to word it) as opposed to using the training programs you can
get on DVD/CD? I ask mainly because I'm only making so much progress with the programs and have
thought about seeking out a voice therapist, would have to be via skype for now. Anyone have any real
experience with both?

Formerly known as Tiffany_Marie

On HRT since 7-27-2011 and feeling great!
  •  

Hikari

I don't have experience with both, but I am self taught with a great many things and I will say there is a huge time advantage for me to learn something when I have an actual teacher who can tailor education to me rather than a book or video where I have to deal with an approach that by the nature of the format has to be one size fits all.

Language in particular I have done both with, and I have found that while many methods of doing something (such as spaced repetition, trial and error, lots of practice, etc) work, a live human being instructing me has always led to me being good much quicker.

Good luck, I am only using free resources atm and not making quick progress at all with my voice, but I bet a voice coach would save me tons of trial and error.
私は女の子 です!My Blog - Hikari's Transition Log http://www.susans.org/forums/index.php/board,377.0.html
  •  

EmilyElizabeth

I've only used a voice program (Finding Your Female Voice) and I've gotten pretty good results (see my thread below for a sample :) )

•  

JungianZoe

Didn't do any programs or therapy... I just lucked out with a strange voice that can bend in many strange ways. ;D  That said, I'd still love to have therapy to enhance it because I feel it's too unrefined to be perfectly natural.