Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

Essay on being trans as a Muslim

Started by Aleah, October 29, 2012, 02:31:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aleah

Bismallah ar-Rhaman ar-Raheem
In the name of God, the Most Compassionate, the Most Merciful

As a practising Muslim for most of my life and just starting my transition (24 now, practicing since I was 16). I obviously had a lot of concerns but, thankfully I studied fiqh (Islamic jurisprudence) and Quran a lot before this so I had a good background to do my own research. This will be a long post, detailing my thought process and all the evidence I have to present from Quran and hadith to support my acceptance of being trans in hope it will help other trans Muslims and non-Muslims alike.

Unfortunately in the modern world, there are very few I trust with ijtihad (reasoning on law), simply because a lot of the Arab world does not represent traditional Islam, it instead represents a protestant form of Islam, Salafi/Wahhabism which is far more puritanical and doesn't embrace the concept of tolerance and compassion that I always knew Islam stood for. The great traditions of the four Sunni madhabs (schools of thought) and the mujtihads (the respected authorities of law throughout history) have always embraced non-literalism, progressive and tolerant rulings.