Susan's Place Logo

News:

According to Google Analytics 25,259,719 users made visits accounting for 140,758,117 Pageviews since December 2006

Main Menu

how to tell your work that your trans?

Started by Ryan55, October 08, 2014, 08:02:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ryan55

ok so I got this new accounting job. I applied using my legal name cause I didn't change it yet and thats on all my information. I got the job, but they don't know I'm trans. I went in looking like a dude and dressed like one, so I'm assuming they must think I'm just a real butch lesbian. If they hired me thinking that and knowing I'm pretty manly looking, maybe they will be open minded to me being trans. The job is in Massachusetts which I think is a pretty liberal state so that might help me out some. How did you guys tell your work that your transitioning and how did it go? Its a small CPA firm, so there isn't a lot of employees.

•  

katiej

First of all, congrats!  I'm also an accountant, and although conservative, it seems to be a pretty accepting profession.  A big part of it is that women are well-represented in the accounting field.

To answer your question, it depends on how out you want to be.  Either way it's a good idea to disclose your status to HR.  That way the company is already aware of it if anyone tries to make it a big deal. 
"Before I do anything I ask myself would an idiot do that? And if the answer is yes, I do not do that thing." --Dwight Schrute
  •  

LatrellHK

I have that question as well because I just got a little part-time cashier job and I dress male and do go as a butch lesbian to avoid confusion in public, such as work. I think the main manager guy thinks I'm a guy but hopefully my name told him otherwise because I do have a feminine name. I know one of the managers thought I was a guy.

I already got hired anyway and he never asked. Hopefully he knows!
  •  

immortal gypsy

Me "Boss I'm taking female hormones"