News:

Visit our Discord server  and Wiki

Main Menu

Might be trans, unsure of religious point of view

Started by darkblade, November 01, 2014, 07:07:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

darkblade

Hi Everyone,

I'm an Arab Muslim that just started questioning my gender identity so I guess I've got a long painful (and liberating) way to go. I've been identifying as gay (hate the word lesbian) for over 5 years (I'm only 20), but I've just uncovered a much greater issue which I'd managed to shove deep inside my brain for many years. Most people would describe me as butch even though I only briefly identified as such: for example when I moved to a new high school at 14 all my classmates noted that I acted like a guy (which I find odd because I'd never spent much time at all around men when I was young). My mother tried - and still tries - very hard to get me to fit into the feminine stereotype, and I've tried myself too but I can't get myself to do anything vaguely feminine willingly. I do dress up when I have to to meet social expectations and all of that, but its definitely not me. About a month ago I had this "revelation" where I thought, oh this isn't me. And I've been thinking about who I am since. I had a pretty emotional reaction that is very unlike me, which makes me believe that whatever I'm feeling is real.

I'll could go on describing my situation but I'd rather get to the point, I'd talk about more stuff in private if anyone would care to help.