Susan's Place Logo

News:

Based on internal web log processing I show 3,417,511 Users made 5,324,115 Visits Accounting for 199,729,420 pageviews and 8.954.49 TB of data transfer for 2017, all on a little over $2,000 per month.

Help support this website by Donating or Subscribing! (Updated)

Main Menu

Sewing a bra

Started by Rosemary, January 21, 2015, 10:50:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rosemary

I'm a newbie sewer, would this be too ambitious, I've found various sites, including this one: http://www.makebra.com/instructions/sewing-4800-bras/ . Any advice appreciated.
Trying to hide my girliness less every day.
  •  

BlonT

Best advice is read and make bra,s with "cheap" materials, to get the feeling of sewing.
Biggest problem is as with any sewing if something does not fit or look good how to solve it.
i would start with a skirt, then a dress or blouse with arms if that works out start your bra :)
As always take GOOD measurements ! Better let some friend do it.And make your own pattern as there are some basic differences between male/female shapes.Thus purchased patterns are not ideal for this reason.Remember practice make perfect :angel:
  •  

Rosemary

OK, I'll start thinking about a skirt then. Thanks.
  •  

Mai

if you are brand new to sewing, i would definately try some less complicated clothing items first.  a bra might be a bit much if you arent that experienced.  i consider myself to be a amateur at sewing, ive made a few basic clothing items, and ended up attempting to sew a bra myself, but didnt have appropriate materials at the time, i just wanted to see if i could do it.  and it was alot more complicated than i originally thought it would be, even for a basic one.
  •  

Rosemary

Quote from: Mai on January 22, 2015, 03:13:40 PM